Skip to main content


CPRA Awards Program


2016 CPRA Award of Merit recipient from Alberta Dr. Tim Burton (c) with ARPA Board representatives


2016 CPRA Award of Merit recipient from Nunavut, Jason Tologanak (r) with CPRA and RPAN Board Member Fred Muise


2016 CPRA President’s Award of Distinction recipient Barbara Hill (posthumously), accepted by her sister, Eleanor Creasey


2016 CPRA Partnership Award recipient, the University of Alberta Faculty of Physical Education and Recreation accepted by Dean, Kerry Mummery


2016 CPRA Award of Merit recipient Susanne Moore, Manitoba with CPRA Board representative Ron Epp (r) and RCM Board members


2017 CPRA Partnership Award presented to the Canadian Parks Council (accepting Dawn Carr and Michael Nadler)


2016 CPRA Partnership Award presented to HIGH FIVE (LJ Bartle accepting) with Bill Allen, PRO, CJ Noble, CPRA , and Gary Milley, RNL.


Recreation PEI President Sean Murphy presented Joanne Wallace – O’Leary Hockeyville Committee with the 2017 CPRA Award of Merit - PEI


2016 CPRA Award of Merit recipient from Quebec, Marc-André Lavigne (r) with CPRA and AQLM Board Member Julie Fortin

The Awards are presented to individuals/organizations/corporations (including a municipality or government agency/department) who have demonstrated a high level of commitment, passion and leadership on a national level to the parks and recreation sector.

The CPRA Awards Program recognizes the following:

CPRA Award of Merit

Efforts of individuals/organizations/ community groups/ corporations in each province and territory who have influenced the parks and recreation sector in a local, regional and/or national capacity.
(Application accepted all year)

CPRA President’s Award of Distinction

Long-term service and commitment of individuals to the parks and recreation sector on a national scale in Canada.
(Deadline: March 15, 2024)

CPRA Partnership Award

Sector partners (organizations/corporations /governments) whose collaboration, creativity, and innovation, enrich individual health and community well-being and enhance Canada’s parks and recreation community.
(Deadline: March 15, 2024)

CPRA Emerging Leader Award

The importance of supporting and celebrating young Canadians, as they are the future leaders of the parks and recreation sector.
(Deadline: March 15, 2024)

CPRA encourages you to consider nominating an individual or organization for one of these prestigious national awards. The nomination process is simple and fast.

Make a Nomination

For more information on the CPRA Awards Program, please contact or your local Provincial or Territorial Parks and Recreation Association.

Meet the CPRA Awards Recipients

Harry Boothman Bursary

The Canadian Parks and Recreation Association (CPRA) has launched a bursary program to assist parks and recreation professionals financially in the pursuit of professional development in the sector.

This Bursary was established to honour the contributions of Harry Boothman to the parks and recreation sector. Harry was a Parks Supervisor for the City of Calgary, CPRA Board Member and long-time supporter of the organization. Harry believed in the need for actions that support the continued development of the field. Establishing this bursary, in support of Professional Development within the sector, is a tribute to Harry’s vision and dedication.

Applications will be accepted from Parks and Recreation practitioners with a minimum of five (5) years’ experience and currently working full-time in the sector.

This year, up to $6,000 in bursaries will be awarded, with no more than $2,500 per bursary. 

Professional development opportunities must begin within the timeframe of April 1, 2024 and March 31, 2025. The professional development opportunity must be completed no later than March 31, 2026. Retroactive Professional Development opportunities will not be supported.

Deadline: March 15, 2024

All applications should be submitted by mail to:

CPRA Harry Boothman Bursary
1180 Walkley Road, Ottawa, ON, K1V 2M5
Or, electronically to: